Deactivating Facebook is not just a decision one makes in haste or immediately. Now no matter the reasons you want to stay off social media Facebook. That decision should be concrete enough for you than just deleting your Facebook account.
However, deactivating your Facebook account may be due to many pressures from emotional crisis, official reason,s and many more. Nevertheless, before you do something you might regret, though, remember there is a way to deactivate your account without deleting it for good.
Before, heading straight for the “page”, consider a more temporary alternative. Merely deactivating your Facebook account is far less of a commitment than impulsively deleting your account, and losing all your photos, friends, and other virtual memories permanently.
When you deactivate your account, your timeline, pictures, and personal information will be hidden from the public, although keep away safely in Facebook’s archive until you feel like returning.
However, some information such as private messages and things you’ve posted on other people’s walls will still remain visible. According to Facebook, people who deactivate their accounts can still chat on Messenger. However, your account will not appear in searches and friends will not be able to view your profile while it’s inactive.
When you’re ready to return, reactivating your account is about as simple as deactivating it. Your profile will be entirely restored upon logging back into Facebook or using your account information to log into another site.
How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account
To deactivate your Facebook account is very simple and easy to do.
- Find and click on the upside-down triangle in the top right corner of any Facebook page.
- Select “Settings” from the drop-down menu.
- Clicking the small triangle icon will open a drop-down menu.
- On the “General” page, click on “Manage Account.”
- You’ll see a few options under this selection but go ahead and skip to the bottom where it says “Deactivate your account.”
- After clicking on “Manage Account,” the menu with the option to deactivate will appear.
- Once you click “Deactivate your account,” Facebook will ask that you enter your password. Once entered, Facebook will prompt you to give a reason for leaving before you confirm the temporary deactivation. Remember, you can come back whenever you choose.
Depending on why you want to leave, Facebook will offer different bits of advice to try to get you to stay.
Dangers of Deactivating Facebook Account
For everything good, there is a disadvantage too. A deactivated account is a temporary removal from the Facebook network. Here are some dangers associating with you deactivating your Facebook account:
The very essence of Facebook is to build a network and make it super easy for people to connect with each other. And this includes Friends, family, and co-workers. You even make friends while on the platform. So when you deactivate your Facebook account, you won’t be able to communicate on the social media platform. Your posts will not be seen and you will no longer receive notifications. You will eventually lose out of the social platform until you activate your account again.
Loss of Information
When you deactivate your Facebook account some of your information may disappear. But all the posts you made on people’s timelines will remain. However, your friends will not be able to get your account anymore. Your page or site won’t be seen anymore too. You will not receive clicks on your links or on tagged pictures. Your status will all disappear, and any community pages you are part of won’t show you as a member anymore.
The above mentioned will happen when you deactivate your Facebook account and any other mishap you may face in the process.
How to Activate Back Your Facebook Account
If you want to restore your account, simply log back into Facebook or use your Facebook account to log into a third-party app. Facebook will send you a verification code to confirm that it’s really you, so be sure that the email address or mobile number listed on your account is up to date.
When you use the ways shown to you above, you will easily deactivate your Facebook account and activate it again whenever you want.
For more information, check out the Facebook help page here.
More Related Posts