Delete Facebook How To is what you need to know if you want to take a break from Facebook. With a lot of things and activities going on in the Facebook platform currently, it might be very distracting for you and overwhelming at the same time if you are trying to focus on more important things in your life. With constant notifications, of likes, comments, reminders, invites to various platforms that you are supposed to like, friend requests that you are to attend to, etc., all these and many more can make the Facebook platform a little overbearing and disturbing, thus making think of delete Facebook page how to in order to stay sane and concentrate.
Delete Facebook How To
If you find yourself in this kind of situation, thankfully Facebook gives the option of either deleting your Facebook page or deactivating if you wish to. You can simply delete your Facebook account in a matter of minutes without much ado. But before you delete your account, make sure it’s what you really want to do because once you delete it, you will no longer enjoy all that comes with Facebook.
Before we walk you through a step-by-step guide on how to delete your account, let’s brief you on some the things you need to know.
Deactivating vs Deleting Facebook – All That You Need to Know
I want to guide you in making this decision that is why I want to help understand the choices Facebook gives you. Facebook gives you two options of stating out of its platform. These options can either be through deactivating your account or permanently deleting your account.
You can either choose to deactivate your account or have it permanently removed (i.e.) by deleting it completely. Now deactivating your account keeps your data on the platform, and you can always get back to it if you deem fit. Deleting your account on the other hand, deletes your data and restricts you from accessing your account again.
What Happens when you Deactivate your Account?
- No one apart from you can see your profile.
- Information like sent messages will still remain visible on the platform.
- You will have access to use Messenger.
- Your name will pop up on your friend’s list, but only for your friends.
- Your name, posts, and comments stay visible to the admins of groups you are on.
Now note that, Facebook gives you the liberty of deactivating your account for as long as you like, and you can log back in if you wish to.
How to Deactivate your Facebook Account
If you would like to give the Facebook platform a break, but not a final goodbye, as earlier stated, you can deactivate your account instead of totally deleting it. Use the following steps to deactivate your account:
- Go to your Settings page, or click on the arrow icon at the top right of any Facebook page.
- On the left, a list of settings will be displayed. Click on Settings, then tap on Your Facebook Information in the left column.
- Tap on Deactivation and Deletion
- Select Deactivate Account, then tap on Continue to Account Deactivation and go through with the instructions to confirm.
What Happens when you choose to Permanently Delete your Account?
- You can no longer reactivate your account.
- All the content you have added/uploaded on Facebook will be lost forever, and you will no longer be able to retrieve it, except you had, had them downloaded before deleting your account.
- You would lose access to Messenger.
- The apps you used your Facebook account to log into would no longer be available. Except you request permission from those apps.
- Messages you have sent to friends would not be fully deleted, and these messages would stay visible to friends.
Facebook gives you a period of 30 days to think about your decision before permanently deleting your account. If during these 30 day period, you decide not to delete your account anymore, you can log back in an reclaim your account. If you do not want to reopen your account, do not login during these 30 day period as doing so will cancel your deletion request.
How to Download the Archive of your Facebook Information
Want to opt-out of Facebook? Yes, but want to keep your data you uploaded on the platform?, here is how to have it downloaded.
Before we start, understand that the Facebook archive feature is highly customizable. What this means is you can either download a single type of content, like your photos or choose a full back-up.
- Navigate to the Facebook website on Facebook.com
- Sign into your account
- On your homepage, scroll to and tap on the arrow icon at the top of the homepage.
- Hit on the Settings button at the drop-down menu.
- Go to your Settings page, and click on your Facebook information from the options on the left side of the page.
- You will be taken to the information archive page. Here, you will be prompted to “Download Your Information”. Click on it.
- Choose the information you wish to download and set a date range, archive format as well as media quality.
- Then click on the blue “Create a File” button. The archiving process will start.
- You check to see the progress using the “Available Files” button. If your file is still undergoing processing, the archive will display as pending, until it is ready for downloading.
Delete Facebook How To
To permanently delete your Facebook account:
- Proceed to your Settings page, or click on the arrow icon at the top right corner to access your settings from there.
- On the left, a list of Settings will be displayed. Tap on Your Facebook Information >Delete Your Account and Information.
- On the page that pops up, you will suggestions for deactivating your account or downloading your information. If you are not interested in an of these options, tap on Delete Account.
- Facebook will prompt you for your password. Enter your password and click on Continue.
- There you are all done. If later you wish to cancel your deletion, just log into your account within the 30 days period, to have your account up and functional once more.
That is how to permanently delete your Facebook account.