Google  Drive Sync – Google Drive Sync and Backup | Google Drive Sync Folder

0
215
Spread the love

Google Drive Sync. This is a new tool that is quick and effective to enable users store their personal important files in the cloud. Google created this innovation with its users in mind, to enhance users storage and back up of important data.

Google  Drive Sync - Google Drive Sync and Backup | Google Drive Sync Folder

This tool is effective for Windows and Mac users. Follow the article, by reading further to know more about Google Drive Sync.

CHECK THIS OUT >>> GOOGLE MY BUSINESS WEBSITE | ADD WEBSITE TO GOOGLE MY BUSINESS

Google Drive Sync

The Google drive Sync replaces Google drive and Google Photos Uploader. However, lets first of all, talk a bit about what Backup and Sync is all about. If you are a heavy Google user, you’re probably already aware of Google’s other sync tools: Google Drive and Google Photos Uploader.

Those have both now been rolled into Backup and Sync, so you can control all of your files, videos, images, and more from one app. This is where you’ll control which folders from your Drive are synced to and from your PC or Mac. As well as specifying which image folders should get backed up to your Photos library.

Google Drive Sync

The Google Drive is really the core of the Backup and Sync tool. So, if you never used the Drive app then a bit of explanation may put you in track. Essentially, this new tool will allow you to sync your Google Drive cloud storage with your computer even if its the entire Drive or just specific files and folders. These are then treated as local files on the computer, so your important stuff is always up to date on every computer you own and in the cloud.

The only exception here are Google Docs files (Sheets, Docs, Slides), those are still online-only, as Backup and Sync will not download them for offline access. But it will put icons in the Google Drive folder so you can double-click them as if they were normal documents. And you will need internet connection to view and edit them.

Sync and Back tools also adds one more tool to the equation: the option to back up specific folders from your PC or Mac to your Google Drive. For example, I use Google Drive to store almost everything, so it’s accessible from all of my other device. But the screenshots folder on my Windows machine isn’t in my Drive folder it’s in my PC’s Pictures folder. With Backup and Sync, I can then access folder on any of my other devices, any time.

How To Use Google Drive Sync

The first steps to take is to go to Google Drive website at https://www.google.com/drive/download/.

Download and install Backup and Sync.

Get the one that matched your Mac or PC. If you have Google Drive installed already in your device, then the tool will automatically replace it. After the download just click on the install button to install the app into your device. Next, you will be asked to restart your computer.

If you previously had the Google Drive app installed, Backup and Sync should automatically log in to your Google Account. If not, you’ll need to log in. After that, a quick splash screen will let you know what the app is all about: backing up your stuff. Click “Got it” to move into the app.

Choose the Folders that should be Sync

The second steps is to choose the folders that should be sync from Google drive. The Backup and Sync tool is split up into two main sections:

  • Google Drive: It function as the original Google Drive app. You choose what folders to sync from your Google Drive cloud storage. And they’ll appear in a Google Drive folder on your PC. Anything you put into that folder will also sync to Google Drive.
  • My Computer: This part is new, and allows you to sync files between your computer and Drive. Without putting them in the dedicated Google Drive folder. Just pick the folders from your computer you want to sync. And they’ll sync to your cloud storage (though they’ll appear in a separate section of the Google Drive interface. Rather than with all your other Drive files.)

These are the main section in the sync and back up tools that enables Google drive to Synchronize your data.  You have a few specific options in this menu. You can:

  • Sync My Drive to this Computer: Use this option to enable/disable syncing your Google Drive to your computer.
  • Also, Sync Everything in my Drive: Literally syncs the entire contents of your Google Drive to your computer.
  • Sync Only These Folders: Allows you to specify which folders to sync from Drive to your computer.

These are really straightforward just choose what you’d like to sync and be done with it.

Choose Other Folder To Be Sync on your PC

Next, look at ‘My Computer’ section, where you can select other folders on your PC to sync. There are a few options available already here: Desktop, Documents, and Pictures. You can simply tick the box next to the option to completely back up everything from that location to your Google Drive.

But if you would like to get a little more granular and only back up a certain folder. You can do this by clicking the “Choose Folder” option. Just navigate to the folder you’d like to back up, and click “Select Folder.” That’s all there is to it.

Files you sync from outside your Drive folder won’t show up in Drive alongside all your other files. To access those files, head to Google Drive on the web and click on “My Computers” in the left menu. This option is also available in the Drive mobile apps.

If you want a file or folder to show up under “My Drive”, you’ll need to sync it the old-fashioned way: by putting it inside the Google Drive folder on your PC.

Tweak Your Photo Uploading settings

Below the folder options in the “My Computer” section, you can also specify how would like to back up images (if you choose to back up images from your PC, of course): Original Quality, which will take up space in your Drive, or High Quality, which won’t take up any space in your Drive. The latter uses intelligent compression algorithms to shrink the size of the image without reducing.

You can also specify how you would like to control delete options: Remove Items Everywhere, Don’t Remove Items Everywhere, or Ask Me Before Removing Items Everywhere. The last option is set as the default, which really makes the most sense anyway. Feel free to change this according to your specific needs.

Lastly, you can tick the box in the Google Photos section to automatically scan your computer for new pictures and upload them to Google Photos. There’s also a small option at the bottom labeled “USB Devices & SD Cards,” which you can use to automatically upload files from your digital camera or USB drives if you’d like. Just plug in the drive or card and specify what you’d like to do with it.

Additional Notes About Backup And Sync

That’s really all there is to Backup and Sync, but there are a couple of other things worth mentioning:

  • You can rename your computer by clicking on the “My Computer” (or similar) text at the top of the “My Computer” page and giving it a specific name.
  • Users can easily upgrade your Drive storage or disconnect your account from the “Settings” tab. System startup rules, file sync icon, and right click settings can also be modified on the Settings tab.
  • Backup and Sync’s network activity can be restricted in the “Network Settings” section of the Settings tab. Proxies can be specific, and download/upload rates capped if need be.
  • The Backup and Sync tool will live in your computer’s system tray as long as it’s running. To access its settings, just click its icon in the tray, click the three-dot menu in the upper right corner, and choose “Preferences.”

That’s pretty much it, really. It’s a simple tool.

CHECK THIS OUT >>> Credit Card Online – Apply for Credit Card Online

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here