How To Merge Facebook Accounts

0
118

If you have been wondering how to merge Facebook accounts, the truth is that it is impossible to merge accounts. The merging process is not possible, but there is a way to go around it. As it goes against Facebook community standards to maintain more than one account, you can merge your accounts. However, in this article, we will be sharing the steps you can take to merge accounts.

People have been asking if Facebook allows users to merge accounts, and the answer is No. Facebook is a strict and straightforward platform, so there is no way one user can use two accounts and merge them. Automatically, it is impossible to merge two accounts but there is a way around it.

How To Merge Facebook Accounts

Manually merging can be done, however, you may lose many of your files and data on Facebook. All that is required for this step to work is a bit of patience from you.

Follow the steps below to manually merge your Facebook accounts;

Download Facebook Information

The first step to take before manually merging your account is to bulk download your Facebook information. The process may take some time. The archive will serve as a minimal backup if you decided to deactivate or delete your Facebook account.

To download your Facebook information, go to the account Settings and Security page, then select “Your Facebook Information” and then click on “View”. You will be directed to a page where you can download your information and get a copy of the things you have shared on the platform.

If you wish to download all of the data on Facebook, select “All of my Data” from the Date Range option. Now, choose a format and then select media quality, lastly click on “Create File”. Your information will start downloading and depending on how large the data is, the process may be long or short. So, be patient.

Also, it will be best if you download your Facebook photos and videos separately, even though they are included in the other download process.

Restore Your Facebook Friends

You will have to manually add friends to your new Facebook because you can’t import your friends to a third-party account and reimport them to a new account. Nevertheless, you can import contacts from your phone. If the contact details of your friends are on your device, use the steps below to get them back;

  • From your new Facebook account, tap on the horizontal lines in the top right corner. Then go to Settings and then Media and Contacts.
  • Enable the “Continuous Contacts Upload” feature.

This will allow your contacts to be uploaded from your device and make it a lot easier for you to find your old friends and add them back.

Restore Facebook Account Data

This is the last step to take to manually merge your accounts. You can’t upload or import your archive to restore or transfer data from your old account to the new one. So, you have to restore manually.

Manually restoring or merging will require you to re-upload the photos you have downloaded from the old account, retag friends, rejoin groups, and others.

As mentioned earlier, there is no way to merge accounts, so you have to do everything manually. That is to say, you will have to start from scratch again because you are most likely to lose data.

Deactivate or Delete Old Account

If you have a group or page, ensure to add your new account as an admin before deactivating or deleting the old account because you will lose access. After you have downloaded all your data and are ready to close the old account across the platform, go to the delete account page and do so.

Conclusion

Facebook allows you to download and archive your account on the platform, but there is no place to restore your data. That is to say, there is no way to restore the data you downloaded on Facebook, you will have to start from scratch.

Frequently Asked Questions

What happens if I have two Facebook accounts?

If more than one personal Facebook account is not allowed on the platform and when they find out, both accounts will be taken down. It is against the Community standards.

Can Facebook merge two accounts?

No, Facebook can not merge two accounts because it is against community standards to have more than one personal account. All you can do is download the data information of the old account and simply delete it from the platform.

Can I delete my Facebook account and make a new one with the same email?

No, you cannot. Facebook doesn’t allow users to use the same email address or phone number to create different accounts.

Can you have 2 Facebook accounts with the same phone number?

No, Facebook doesn’t allow you one phone number to authenticate or create two or more accounts on the platform. The verification number provided by Facebook is unique so you can’t use one number to verify an account.

Does Facebook really delete your account?

Yes, your account will be deleted from the Facebook platform within 30 days of your deletion request. Nevertheless, if within that period, you have a change of mind, you can still recover your account by simply logging in using your details.

How can I create Facebook account without phone number?

You can create a Facebook account with an email address if you don’t have a phone number. Facebook allows people to create an account on the platform using either an email address or phone number, so if you don’t have any of these, you can’t create an account.

Also, Check Out:

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here